4 Canvas Shootout

I was having a hard time deciding on my favorite canvas, so I decided to run a head to head competition on my top 4;

Harman By Hahnemuhle Canvas

Hahnemuhle Daguerre Canvas

Hahnemuhle Monet Canvas

Moab Anasazi Canvas

I printed the below image on all of them, using the company provided profiles and perceptual rendering intent. I chose perceptual because it really helped maintain the transitions in the shadows, something that can get lost because these matte canvases have much less dynamic range than a screen or glossy paper.

2 Months Old!

After running this test I think that Hahnemuhle Monet Canvas is even more clearly the winner. Here is how the test turned out:

Harman By Hahnemuhle Canvas: This one was the coolest toned of the bunch, but maybe a little less bright than the Daguerre. It came off with good shadow detail but the deeper areas were not that deep compared to the Monet. The colors were the least saturated and the skin tones were the coolest. The texture and feel is great and I like the weight, but it didn’t work so well for me as a color portrait canvas, which is, in my opinion, the best use for canvas.

Hahnemuhle Daguerre Canvas: This one wasn’t that different from the Harman. It was slightly whiter, and as such was also a little less saturated compared to the Monet, but not any less saturated than the Harman. The details were great, but again, I didn’t see the skin tones as pleasing, making it less effective as a color portrait canvas, in my opinion.

Moab Anasazi Canvas: Once again the heavy and very mechanical looking texture was prevalent in this canvas. The colors were the most intense, and the skin tones actually came out too saturated, ever so slightly orange compared to the Monet. Not sure I really like this canvas at all.

Hahnemuhle Monet Canvas: Contrary to my initial review, this canvases contrast wasn’t at all because the whites were whiter. It is, in fact, the warmest and least white of all 4 canvases! For some reason though, maybe a great dmax, this canvas just “pops” the best, had the most pleasing natural skin tones, and had a texture that was neither overbearing nor absent, and it held good detail. A definite winner in my opinion, a roll of this canvas will be on the way to my house soon!

Leave a Reply

